Wipptal

Wipptal and its mountain valleys

Matrei, Steinach, Gries, Navis, Trins, Gschnitz, Obernberg, Schmirn, Vals or St. Jodok 
With the Nightjet into the mountains 

Discover the untouched mountain world of Tirol 

Do you enjoy being in the Tirolean mountains and are you looking for new, secluded places with unique natural landscapes? Then a trip to the Wipptal and its mountain valleys south of Innsbruck is worthwhile. The Wipptal is not only one of the insider tips among hiking regions but is also very easy to reach directly by train. Explore the mountain world in peace and quiet with activities in the fresh mountain air or recharge your energy on the shores of a mountain lake. More than 500 km of marked hiking trails in all degrees of difficulty, various themed trails for families as well as numerous alpine pastures and huts for rustic refreshments form the foundation for a varied hiking holiday with " move under your own power" - the motto of the mountaineering villages. Travel as you wish from hut to hut on high-altitude trails, there are even several high-altitude hikes for beginners to experts in the Gschnitztal and around the imposing Olperer (3,476 m). 

Services

  • Train journey incl. seat reservations on the ÖBB Nightjets NJ 40491/40420 from Hamburg or NJ 421/420 from Düsseldorf or NJ 421/420 from Amsterdam or NJ 446/447 or NJ 466/467 from Vienna Hbf. or NJ 464/465 from Graz Hbf. to Innsbruck and return (upgrade to couchette possible! – see prices and train connections)
  • komoot voucher for the World Package worth € 29.99
  • Transfer from Innsbruck railway station to the chosen accommodation in Matrei, Steinach, Gries, Navis, Trins, Gschnitz, Obernberg, Schmirn, Vals or St. Jodok and return 

bookable from € 119,-

INQUIRY

Hiking tips

One of the most panoramic hikes in the Wipptal valley is the ridge hike from the Bergeralm mountain station to the Lichtsee. Also not to be missed: the family-friendly hike to the natural idyll of Lake Obernberg, the educational water trail in the Gschnitztal with its stations, the themed trails around the Maria Waldrast monastery or the Almenrunde in Navis. Adventurous hikers may want to try a first high-altitude hike from hut to hut or a traverse of the Alps. 

Highlights

  • Guest card = ticket for public transport in the Wipptal region incl. Innsbruck - Brenner suburban railway and all bus lines to the mountain valleys. 
  • Almenrunde Navis for indulgent hikers who enjoy a stop for refreshments and interesting themed trails on mining, water or the Brenner base tunnel 
  • Selection of multi-day high-altitude hikes for beginners & professionals 
  • Family highlights: The Bärenbachl water and adventure world on the Bergeralm, the mill village in Gschnitz, Lake Obernberg or various nature playgrounds in the region. 
  • The Alpine city of Innsbruck with its many cultural treasures is only a short train ride away 
Logo "Im Nightjet in die Berge"

Transfer

Please provide the address of your preferred accommodation in Matrei, Steinach, Gries, Navis, Trins, Gschnitz, Obernberg, Schmirn, Vals or St. Jodok when making your booking. 
2 suitcases + 1 piece of hand luggage per person are included in the price. Each additional suitcase will be charged at €10.00 each way. 1 item of sports equipment is also included in the price. Each additional item of sports equipment will be charged at €10.00 each way. 

komoot

Find, plan and share your adventures with komoot.
With your rail ticket for the respective route, you will also receive a voucher for your komoot World Package worth € 29.99. Valid until 31.12.2022.

Logo komoot GmbH

ÖBB Rail & Drive

Off on holiday by train & car. The environmentally friendly mobility offer combines rail travel with car travel in a convenient way. This way you can get to every beautiful corner of Austria for your excursion. Locations are represented throughout Austria.

Prices and train connections

Further Information

Wipptal

Wipptal & seine Bergtäler

Matrei, Steinach, Gries, Navis, Trins, Gschnitz, Obernberg, Schmirn, Vals oder St. Jodok 
Im Nightjet in die Berge 

Die unberührte Bergwelt Tirols entdecken 

Sie sind gern in den Tiroler Bergen unterwegs und suchen nach neuen, versteckten Winkeln mit einzigartiger Naturlandschaft? Dann lohnt sich eine Reise in das Wipptal und seine Bergtäler südlich von Innsbruck, das zu den Geheimtipps unter den Wanderregionen zählt und noch dazu sehr einfach direkt per Bahn erreichbar ist. Hier können Sie in Ruhe bei Aktivitäten in der frischen Bergluft die Bergwelt erkunden oder am Ufer eines Bergsees neue Energie tanken. Mehr als 500 km markierte Wanderwege in allen Schwierigkeitsgraden, verschiedene Themenwege für Familien sowie zahlreiche Almen und Hütten zur urigen Einkehr bilden das Fundament für einen abwechslungsreichen Wanderurlaub mit „Bewegung aus eigener Kraft“ – dem Motto der Bergsteigerdörfer. Wenn Sie gern von Hütte zu Hütte auf Höhenwegen unterwegs sind, dann gibt es sogar mehrere Höhenwanderungen für Anfänger bis Experten im Gschnitztal und rund um den imposanten Olperer (3.476 m). 

Leistungen

  • Bahnfahrt inkl. Sitzplatzreservierung in den ÖBB Nightjets NJ 40491/40420 ab Hamburg oder NJ 421/420 ab Düsseldorf oder NJ 421/420 ab Amsterdam oder NJ 446/447 bzw. NJ 466/467 ab Wien Hbf. oder NJ 464/465 ab Graz Hbf. nach Innsbruck und zurück (Aufzahlung auf Liegewagen möglich! - siehe Preise und Bahnverbindungen)
  • komoot Gutschein für das Welt Paket im Wert von € 29,99
  • Transfer vom Bahnhof Innsbruck zur gewünschten Unterkunft in Matrei, Steinach, Gries, Navis, Trins, Gschnitz, Obernberg, Schmirn, Vals oder St. Jodok und zurück 

buchbar ab € 119,-

ANFRAGE

Wandertipps

Zu den aussichtsreichsten Wanderungen im Wipptal zählt die Kammwanderung von der Bergstation der Bergeralm zum Lichtsee. Außerdem nicht verpassen: die familienfreundliche Wanderung zum Naturidyll Obernberger See, den lehrreichen Wasserweg im Gschnitztal mit seinen Stationen, die Themenwege rund um das Kloster Maria Waldrast oder die Almenrunde in Navis. Für abenteuerlustige Wanderer bietet sich eine erste Höhenwanderung von Hütte zu Hütte an oder eine Alpendurchquerung. 

Highlights

  • Gästekarte = Fahrkarte für öffentlichen Verkehr in der Region Wipptal inkl. S-Bahn Innsbruck – Brenner und allen Buslinien in die Bergtäler 
  • Almenrunde Navis für genüssliche Wanderer mit Einkehrschwung und interessante Themenwege zu Bergbau, Wasser oder dem Brenner Basistunnel 
  • Auswahl an Mehrtages-Höhenwanderungen für Einsteiger & Profis 
  • Familien-Highlights: Wasser- und Erlebniswelt Bärenbachl auf der Bergeralm, das Mühlendorf in Gschnitz, Obernberger See oder verschiedene Natur-Spielplätze in der Region 
  • Die Alpenstadt Innsbruck mit vielen Kulturschätzen ist nur eine kurze Bahnfahrt entfernt 
Logo "Im Nightjet in die Berge"

Transfer

Bitte geben Sie bei der Buchung die Adresse der gewünschten Unterkunft in Matrei, Steinach, Gries, Navis, Trins, Gschnitz, Obernberg, Schmirn, Vals oder St. Jodok bekannt. 
2 Koffer + 1 Handgepäck pro Person sind im Preis inkludiert. Für jeden zusätzlichen Koffer werden € 10,- pro Richtung in Rechnung gestellt. 1 Sportgerät pro Fahrgast ist ebenfalls im Preis inkludiert. Für jedes zusätzliche Sportgerät werden € 10,- pro Richtung in Rechnung gestellt. 

 

komoot

Finden, planen und teilen Sie die Abenteuer mit komoot.
Mit Ihrem Bahnticket für die jeweilige Fahrtstrecke erhalten Sie gleichzeitig einen Gutschein für Ihr komoot Welt Paket im Wert von € 29,99. Gültig bis 31.12.2022.

Logo komoot GmbH

ÖBB Rail & Drive

Ab in den Urlaub mit Bahn & Auto. Das umweltfreundliche Mobilitätsangebot verbindet Bahnfahren mit Autofahren auf bequeme Art und Weise. So gelangen Sie für Ihren Ausflug in jeden schönen Winkel Österreichs. Standorte sind flächendeckend in ganz Österreich vertreten.

Preise und Bahnverbindungen

Weitere Infos